KET leads Lexington outlets in regional Emmy nominations


"Kentucky Life," hosted by Dave Shuffett, accounted for six of KET's 19 Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Award nominations. © KET photo.

“Kentucky Life,” hosted by Dave Shuffett, accounted for six of KET’s 19 Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Award nominations. © KET photo.

Kentucky Educational Television nabbed 15 nominations in the 49th Annual Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Awards.

In several categories KET competes with itself, particularly the magazine/feature segment category where it had five nominations, all for segments on its Kentucky Life program: Paul Smith, The Battle of Richmond; Smith, The Chitlin’ Circuit; Brandon Wickey, Migratory Songbirds at Red River Gorge; Valerie Trimble and James Piston, Good Shepherd Cheese – Say Cheese!; Frank Simkonis, Zombie.

Matt Hilton and Robert L. Shrader were also nominated in the magazine/feature category for a segment of Bluegrass & Backroads, which is produced by Kentucky Farm Bureau and shown on KET.

There were two nominations documentary – cultural/topical: Simkonis, Tracks of Imagination on Kentucky Muse; Matthew Grimm for Ted Bassett: A Kentucky Gentleman.

Other nominees include: Nick Helton, arts and entertainment, Jubilee; Wickey and Dave Shuffett, magazine program, Kentucky Life episode 13th Kentucky Infantry; Dan Taulbee, editor, Tracks of Imagination; Tim Farmer, program host/moderator/narrator, Kentucky Afield, Farmer and Scott Moore, human interest – program, Kentucky Afield episode Bank Fishing with Axton; Moore and Brian Volland, photographer – program, Kentucky Afield episodes; Obie Williams, graphic arts, animated opening for Tim Farmer’s Country Kitchen.

Amy Hess received three nominations for the program The Local Traveler, produced by Beloved Productions and Courage Media and funded by Gray Communications: one nomination for program host/moderator/narrator and two with Mike Benton for magazine program segment for episodes of the show. The entire 40-episode series is shown on Gray’s Kentucky and Tennessee stations — WKYT in Lexington, WYMT in Hazard, WBKO in Bowling Green and WVLT in Knoxville, Tenn. — and select episodes air on KET stations.

WKYT received two nominations: anchor Amber Philpott and videographer John Wilson, feature news report, Singing Sensation; sports anchor Lee K. Howard and videographer John Wilson, sports – program feature/segment, Mascot Miracle. Hazard-based WYMT’s Steve Hensley and Brandon Robinson were nominated for newscast – smaller market for Tornado Outbreak.

WLEX received four nominations: reporter Courtney Fischer and videographer Chris Woosley, spot news, It’s Different When You Go Through It; producer Jennifer Evans Smith, special event coverage, 138th Kentucky Derby; Dave Medley, Bruce Carter and Kevin Christopher, program promo, LEX18 KY Derby Open; Medley, short form editor, promotion composite.

The awards will be presented July 20 in Cincinnati.

Note: This item was updated June 24, 2013, to clarify information regarding The Local Traveler.

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.